The Haiku Challenge

I have decided to set myself the challenge of writing a Japanese Haiku every day for the month of March.  In Feudal Japan it was considered an art form and as worthy of praise as fine swordsmanship, if a member of the Samurai class could spontaneously produce poetry.  Often a senior member of the court would throw a leaf from a bridge into a nearby stream and by the time it had reappeared the compositions from those participating would have to be read out. It was reckoned to be a fine method for developing what the great 16th century Zen Roshi Takuan Soho called ‘the unfettered mind.’

I shall be following the simple structure of three lines of five, seven and then five syllables (although I do not promise not to break those rules!) and I encourage readers to join me without a care in the world for how ‘good’ or ‘bad’ our attempts may be!

To get me started:

Past the next big wave,

Beyond the reach of the tide,

Taking me back home.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fey's diary
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 11:40:15

    I remember back the time when I was in high school. Our teacher gave us homework to provide five Japanese Haiku. I really had a hard time to search for words to fit its syllable.

    Reply

  2. mbwilliams
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 20:24:47

    Well its great practice in disciplining our prose, even if we don’t take the rules too seriously! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Rob witt
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 20:00:06

    Is haiku easy to do?
    Just have a go and you’ll see
    its easy if you try.

    🙂

    Reply

  4. mbwilliams
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 18:33:42

    Very good work Rob,
    Putting the pen to paper
    Is the hardest part!

    (My new hobby – talking to people in Haiku and seeing if they realize!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
