The Flood

The relentless pen of now,
Flows its never-ending ink on empty page,
Though its ink can never cease,
Neither does it endure any single form.
Wisdom spatters the page like bird shit,
So ever-changing and self-contradictory,
And so prolific,
The end of worth in words is clearly seen.
Beyond counting they are without currency,
Gifts of such number they cannot be valued,
Like gold rain they tire the roof of our endurance.
Only in empty sky can we find relief,
A peace from the pitter-patter of accumulating knowledge,
An end to the drone of teachers,
A sunscreen to block out their enlightenment.
This stomach growls over-full with food,
This tree is bursting forth fruit at such a rate,
That earth heaves with countless reinventions,
Upon its scarred surface,
New buildings rise and fall like tides,
An edifice built and forgotten in a single breath.
I shall hear your words:
No we shall not pierce a veil and live again;
No we shall not dip our trotter in acknowledgement of past sins;
No we shall not in our entirety haunt this earth in thwarted ghostly form;
No we shall not dwell within atoms until their end;
And then I shall forget such words,
All that remains this blessed empty sky,
Between and betwixt its bountiful harvest,
That falls upon those sickly, ill devised fields.
Forgive me, I cannot help it,
I shall uncorked pour forth this flood,
And two-by-two you must survive it,
Till mirrored eyes the clearest sky
Reflect no want for more again.
21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holly Vandervort
    May 04, 2011 @ 16:21:10

    Wow, this is absolutely beautiful. Nice work!

    Reply

  2. shoelessboywonder
    May 04, 2011 @ 17:21:41

    Extremly well done, I am a rhymer myself and am usually confused by non-rhyming poems, but yours had such passion and so well executed had little trouble understanding your plot, Bring the flood if you wish, and i will bring a raft, Not something as simple as a dish, but that of showcasing craft.

    Reply

  3. Jingle
    May 05, 2011 @ 17:57:48

    lovely job..
    Glad to find you.

    How are you?
    Please consider making a contribution to poets rally week 43 today,
    A free verse is appreciated, you rock!
    Happy Thursday!
    Hope to see you in.
    xoxox

    Reply

  4. Helena
    May 05, 2011 @ 21:13:52

    WOW! An outstanding piece. The line “An edifice built and forgotten in a single breath” really got me, young man. Well done!

    Reply

  5. bendedspoon
    May 05, 2011 @ 22:32:27

    Remarkable write! Only in empty sky can we find relief… Looking up! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. Pat Cegan
    May 05, 2011 @ 23:16:31

    Well, I have read three of your poems just now and each so different. I laughed when I read:
    Wisdom spatters the page like bird shit,
    So ever-changing and self-contradictory,

    I have been thinking lately that we should disban all educational systems and just learn what we need at the moment. As for wisdom, you are the first person I ever saw who challenged the wisdom of wisdom. Why do we indeed worship gurus, books, and ancient knowledge? Much of it is a hoax. Sometimes I want to wipe my mind clean like my computer’s hard drive, and then put in only what I have carefully examined, tested, tried, and can’t figure out what else to do with it. Or maybe, leave my mind blank to just receive from whoever that is that keeps whispering to me.

    Great blog. Wish I had time to just linger here but will be back. Thanks for your visit to me, too. Hugs, pat

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      May 08, 2011 @ 18:16:22

      Thank you Pat, for reading and for your insights. I think there is something to be said for emptiness and for silence. I say that as someone who is not very good at those things!

      Reply

  7. P.V. Zim
    May 06, 2011 @ 01:47:55

    Consider me blown away.

    Reply

  8. Jamie Dedes
    May 06, 2011 @ 07:15:59

    Uncork and poem on …

    Nice metaphors.

    Reply

  9. thoughtsnotlost
    May 07, 2011 @ 00:03:43

    Wonderful, I really enjoyed!

    Reply

  10. eclipseofthemoon
    May 08, 2011 @ 18:33:59

    Beautiful words….emotionally charged and very moving poem. Great work.

    Reply

  11. mbwilliams
    May 08, 2011 @ 21:11:23

    Thank you all for your kind words and thoughts – I shall be sure to return the favour as soon as I get the chance to revisit all of your blogs

    Reply

  12. Ina
    May 09, 2011 @ 08:55:09

    very good poem. you rock.

    Reply

  13. Damian Rucci
    May 12, 2011 @ 15:19:36

    Great poem. This had me smiling

    Reply

Leave a Reply

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
