A time for thank-yous

You do so capture me with words,
As if I were nought but clouds about the moon,
Smoke breathed out from your cigar.
Still I would be flattered to be penned by such a poet,
As life made you,
The old dowager sighed before she died.
Did he ever write of her;
A fresh bloom briefly laid upon the world,
Before greying fall from Summer’s bright regard?
She never knew.
 
 

I would like to give my heartfelt thanks to Sonia at Doing the Write Thing for awarding me the Versatile Blogger Award!

It has meant a great deal to me to be read by writers I respect. Sonia is one of those like-minded spirits and a generous and talented writer to boot. Call me extraverted but the feedback I have received since blogging has given me a whole new reason to put pen to paper.

In accord with the rules of the award here are seven hereto (possibly) unknown facts about myself:

  1. I used to want to be a musketeer until my best friend at the time, a six year old called Dorothy, told me they didn’t exist anymore. Needless to say I was very upset.
  2. As a child I had a cat called Albert. He was black as midnight apart from bright green eyes, had fur as soft as silk, and used to bring us headless birds as gifts. He is buried in the garden now, but sometimes I still catch a glimpse of him out of the corner of my eye.
  3. I now live in a thatched cottage in the middle of the countryside. At night I can’t hear…anything at all! It’s amazing.
  4. My most precious possession is a Katana (a Japanese Sword). But I rarely practice with it outside, in case I frighten the old lady next door.
  5. I think my life really turned around when I was twenty-five and started practicing the martial arts seriously. Since then I’ve never had to use my fists and rarely 🙂 wanted to.
  6. My girlfriend is very beautiful, refined and organised, but when she laughs she looks like a little girl and sounds like an old woman. It cracks me up every time.
  7. In personality I am most like my mother. When she was dying of cancer I wrote her a poem thanking her for everything she had done for me. The last thing she said to me was ‘thank-you for my poem’.

As I have already said being read by other bloggers has made a great difference to me. It has also been inspiring reading work by other writers. Here are fifteen of my favourites. Check them out and give them all the encouragement you can and they will do the same for you.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia G Medeiros
    May 21, 2011 @ 00:16:09

    I do so love reading your poems! You know how to capture images so well. I definitely agree about this whole blogging experience gives motivation to write. It’s wonderful to share with other writers. 😀

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      May 21, 2011 @ 10:29:15

      Thanks Sonia! Poetry is something that seems to come naturally but I think I will take your example and attempt some flash fiction soon. Watch this space!

      Reply

  2. eva626
    May 21, 2011 @ 13:09:06

    congrats and thanks for the award!!! love the poem btw. and your gf seems very cute lol

    Reply

  3. Ina
    May 22, 2011 @ 14:19:19

    Hey good poem! And thank you very much for the award :), congratulations too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
