The door between sleep and waking

Here is my monthly story, submitted for Sonia’s August Challenge.

A weight is falling; a world on my back. Under the bed I lie pinioned, face down as from the open door slides an alien presence, green as emerald. Servants of the Seleste, I guess; their masters dead as Moondust.

Yes…it is good that you fear us, comes a sibilant whisper. It is right you may not turn and look upon us, says the voice as I strain to see. For we are all you cannot permit to exist, all you cannot solve, all you cannot cow with intellect, but only grope at with sudden intuition and cold sweat. We make life unsafe. But rest with us now, lay with and accept us.

Unable to do anything else I acquiesce, but in the recesses and deep groves of stubborn thought I struggle and at last slip sideways, through the door between sleep and the blissful arms of waking.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lara Dunning
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 23:57:06

    Interesting piece. It created lots of questions that I’m not sure I want the answers too.

    Reply

  2. Rosie@mygardenhaven
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 16:42:30

    I have been there…half awake but the ‘dream’ goes on, and I can’t move. Your recurrent theme (I’ve read The tide of sleep) is filled with struggle and do I detect fear? What I would feel in that realm between sleep and wakefulness.
    Rosie

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Aug 26, 2011 @ 10:56:52

      Hi Rosie – yes I suffered from that sleep paralysis state many times as a child. Eventually I realised that just relaxing allowed the dream to pass. Still though, sometimes even when awake the fading dread of the dream lives on…Thanks for commenting!

      Reply

  3. Sonia G Medeiros
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 17:03:30

    Very creepy. Well done! I’ve felt that moment of terror between sleep and waking, unable to move. You catured it so well.

    I apologize that I couldn’t come read this sooner. I love it though!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: September Writing Challenge – A Fairy Tale | Sonia G Medeiros
  5. Tim Guthat
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 01:59:57

    Nicely done. Night Terrors can be horrible and your portrayal is especially creepy because the Terror speaks to the dreamer. Somehow this seems worse than the silent Terror I’ve experienced. Again, very effective story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
