Playing Dice

So many lives
Spin through imagination,
Possibilities of which I have but one to live,
In this I find inconsolable sadness-
But also hope.
For I’ll never know which of these many worlds
Will be my adventure,
So let’s play dice
With god,
Even if he knows all the answers-
I don’t
And that’s just the way it should be.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 19:45:21

    The ideas in this poem awe me! Playing dice with God. So true. We shake the dice, think we have a chance, don’t we? And then we find out God’s answers. (The game is fixed. LOL.)

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Sep 05, 2011 @ 20:06:12

      Glad I struck a chord with you Mary. Who knows if there’s a plan or not. I’m inclined to think that things unfold spontaneously, but also just as they should.

      Reply

  2. liv2write2day
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 20:05:40

    Yes, sometimes it feels like a gamble, but we can’t not take the risk of giving it all we have. Good to reflect on your poem’s insights. Thanks.

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Sep 05, 2011 @ 20:09:52

      That’s an interesting insight. Giving all we have, being totally committed to the moment is another massive topic I have written about before and will do so again. I’m particularly interested in how it is not about brute force ‘effort’ but awareness and focus on what is important to each of us.

      Reply

  3. Angela Cohan
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 20:08:12

    Wonderful poem. I enjoyed visiting your blog and reading the rest of your work.

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Sep 05, 2011 @ 20:11:47

      Thanks! Feel free to sign up if you want regular updates. WordPress allows you to control how often you get them so it’s not overwhelming. I sign up to all my favorite blog writers. I find it a real inspiration for my own work. Let me know if you have any writing you’d like me to read. I’ll be sure to drop by your blog.

      Reply

  4. PattiKen
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 15:59:22

    Exactly right.

    Reply

  5. Susie Clevenger
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 20:27:14

    Love it! I gamble with God at times…He always wins with the upper hand

    Reply

  6. Ann LeFlore
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 21:16:46

    I love your blog and all your poem hope you have a wonderful gooseberry day
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/04/haggle-baggily/

    Reply

  7. charlesmashburn
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 21:17:59

    I’ve often said life is a crap shoot. You’ve said it a bit more eloquently, it seems. I do think it’s our focus on what we gamble on that makes the difference.

    My weekly entry: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/blood-on-the-moon-2/

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Sep 07, 2011 @ 22:31:29

      I definitely think that our awareness an focus is what life is all about. After all it is one of the only things we are definitely in control of! Thanks for reading!

      Reply

  8. Life: Between the lines
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 01:21:10

    left to chance with a God who knows it all…hmmm food for thought indeed
    Happy gooseberry day!!!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/legerdemain/

    Reply

  9. The Noiseless Cuckooclock
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 19:16:16

    your words make perfect senses.

    Reply

  10. kshawnedgar
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 23:41:38

    High roller, and then snake eyes. 🙂

    Reply

  11. lscotthoughts
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 03:48:28

    I also loved this perspective…Playing Dice with God! Great writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
