The Wave

Behind a line of sand –
Sunswept hills
And island after island of memory.
If I jump forward now,
Can I ever go back?
But the wave is sweeping in
And with unbridled joy I ride it,
Till bamboo shoots and roots
Snag me,
And I must go to the dojo,
Eat and breathe and sleep
Under the eyes of stern Senseis,
Till once again all is clear
And the sea sweeps in,
Unbridled.

submitted for the Thursday Poets Rally Week 52

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susie Clevenger
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 20:58:54

    Island after island of memory…love this…In the middle of my memories I too hit snags…some are regrets. Wonderful poem…

    Reply

  2. Ina
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 21:28:24

    I love the image you picture and the idea here, lovely.

    Reply

  3. charlesmashburn
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 21:35:31

    I love the vividly island feel of this one, mb. Very nice.
    my entry to Bluebell books short story slam today: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/bubbles-and-lies/

    Reply

  4. Lara Dunning
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 00:56:34

    Love the line “Till bamboo shoots and roots
    Snag me”

    Reply

  5. antomaniax
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 02:23:19

    You got the stuff Bro..Awesome writing!

    Reply

  6. Bhaga
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 07:57:15

    I love your way of using the English language,
    chiselling out of those known words
    a new feeling and a new, lived meaning.
    THAT is Poetry indeed, thank you for it.

    Reply

  7. The Orange Tree
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 01:28:12

    very beautiful.

    🙂

    Reply

  8. ShonEjai
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 23:54:59

    Very descriptive. I loved every line.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
