The Line

A line in the sand:
The unwritten code that guides our hand.
When does dying for a cause,
Become dying to prove you are right?
I only know I’ll not retreat another step.
My pride the wall at my back,
My friend and my foe,
For better and for worse.

 

 

 

 

 

 

My heartfelt thanks for the award to this supportive community. I nominate: magical mystery teacher.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wander
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 23:08:48

    I liked the rigidity of this poem…are you calling pride your enemy and your friend?

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Feb 15, 2012 @ 20:26:38

      Exactly that, pride is the two edged sword that can save us, but also doom us to inflexibility. The question everyone must ask themselves is…are you happy with that?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
