No Prize to be Won

If you cannot be content amidst life’s chaos,
You cannot be content.
For true happiness is not built in a vacuum,
Or kept safe on the printed page.
Like life it bursts through barriers;
Profiting from destruction,
Adapting to setbacks.
If you are not happy when life goes badly,
You will not be happy when it offers you a gift.
So ask yourself:
Would I do it if there was no point to be proved,
No prize to be won?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mairmusic
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 13:36:40

    V.cool reflection, my friend– nice start to my day.

    Reply

  2. booguloo
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 15:10:25

    Your nuggets add up to riches.

    Reply

  3. kshawnedgar
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 00:05:44

    Yes, I would. And I’m glad you do as well. Strong poem.

    Reply

Leave a comment

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected