Self-Defence for the Mind

Over the last 9 months – 6 to write, 3 to edit – I’ve been writing my first self-help book. It is with a sigh of relief that I can announce it is finally complete. I say complete; in reality there will be numerous changes at the behest of friends and family that are currently reading it, but it is high time I blogged about it.

Self-Defence for the Mind is a book based on the understanding I have gained from my experience in the Martial Arts and my subsequent pursuit of Zen philosophy. When I was taught Zen it wasn’t as an esoteric philosophy or an incomprehensible state, but a set of tools for dealing with the various problems life can throw our way. No insight I have gained since has persuaded me there is a better approach. With this in mind I set out to write a book that would teach these skills in a way that was straight forward and practical. I set out to show the reader how to defend his mind as effectively as any Martial Artist can defend his body.

There are other books that have attempted something similar, through various means. On the whole I have found them to be largely incomprehensible, albeit genuine, or so watered down they were useless. It will be up to my readers, may they be many :), to decide if I have been more successful.

Now that I have a readable first draft in place, and whilst I seek representation, I would very much welcome feedback. In the first part what do you think of the name and selling point of the book as described? All comments welcome.

Secondly, I intend to  post some extracts here but to make this easier, it would be very useful to hear what you – my readers and fellow bloggers – would like to read about. There are many subjects to choose between:

1. Stress: finding your balance and riding the wave
2. Happiness: self-worth in your own hands
3. Emotions: mastering the mind-storm
4. New Eyes: life without labels
5. Living in a bubble: coexistence and the centre of your universe
6. Spontaneous Mind: handling problems as they come up
7. Images in the Mirror: the science and art of self-knowledge
8. Self Growth: setting a course for change
9. Conclusions: building strong pillars
10. The Positivity Bank: great inputs to keep you going and keep you growing

Let me know what chapter sounds most interesting and I will post accordingly. Votes by comment below. I will of course reciprocate by commenting diligently on contributors blogs. Many thanks!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. halfwaybetweenthegutter
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 19:27:15

    Personally, Life Without Labels interests me; it’s a subject I’m quite passionate about. Good luck with it!

    Reply

  2. brokenpenwriter
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 19:27:16

    This sounds like a great book! I’m interested in several chapters: 6-Spontaneous Mind, 4-New Eyes, 2-Happiness and 10 -Positivity
    Looking forward to reading.

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 21:22:51

      Thanks Brokenpenwriter – I hope it’s a good book, I’ve certainly put in the hours! Good choices – so many to choose from. I know my favourite chapter but I will keep my cards close to my chest – for now!

      Reply

  3. becca givens
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 20:42:10

    Ohhh, so many interesting choices … all pertinent to the majority and their/our journeys … for many, myself included, the foundation begins with our view of self-worth, whether we grew up valued or presently co-exist with value. Look forward to more information. Thank you for visiting (My entry “Lost – Can you see me?” ) and leaving a breadcrumb!!
    I appreciate it!

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Apr 07, 2012 @ 18:02:39

      Thanks Becca; self worth and coexistence are certainly important building blocks we all have to work on. I enjoyed reading your blog, I will be back again soon to read more.

      Reply

  4. Tally
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 01:42:15

    Congratulations on finishing your book! No small task, I know. You may consider adding a subtitle to let the reader know at first glance that it involves the Martial Arts and Zen philosophy. Either way, it is a good title. Personally I would be interested to see Living In A Bubble or Images In the Mirror. Again, congrats and thank you for visiting my blog.

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Apr 07, 2012 @ 17:59:31

      Thanks Tally, I’ve made a note of your preferences – very interesting choices. I am currently playing with a few ideas about how I want to pitch the book, which won’t necessarily emphasize martial arts and zen, though they are my personal inspiration. I will certainly have some sort of tag line though to make the book’s aim clear, so thanks for that.

      Reply

  5. Kay Salady
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 03:10:26

    #1 The title is good, but why have you spelled defense with a c?
    #2 Images in the Mirror

    Having a history with Isshin Ryu Karate Do, I found this blog to be very exciting! From my past experience, I would never instruct a student who was not mentally stable. It is very important to have balance in all areas of one’s life. I feel your book will be embraced by the general public and I wish you every success!

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      Apr 09, 2012 @ 12:28:10

      Thank you Kay. Defense is spelt defence in UK English, so the spelling will depend on the market, but thanks for pointing that out.

      I would agree that there is a synergy between mental and physical balance and that is a concept I expand on in several chapters including the one you have picked out. Thanks again!

      Reply

  6. Chris
    May 13, 2012 @ 14:25:08

    I’ve been following your posts with great interest for a while…I look foward to reading the book 🙂

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      May 20, 2012 @ 19:59:00

      Glad to hear from you D.Chris! I will be posting more on Self-Defence for the Mind very soon. One of my test readers has completed my manuscript, and the 2 others are nearing the end. All have interesting and helpful comments and I am now busy editing. More to follow!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
