Become Ordinary

Life is so unconscionably cruel
By giving us more
It takes away
The more you love
The more you will miss
When love has dwindled to dust
And so we must be Spartans
Granting ourselves only fleeting pleasure
After much discipline
That we may trick life
And make the ordinary seem a gift
And any hardship or trial
A reward for those few stolen heartbeats
When we remember careless nights
On the French Riviera
You and I and the unmapped future
Of youth
What I would give to have that back now
I knew it was special then
Now I realise it was priceless
No billionaire could buy that mind of unbridled optimism
You were the greatest lay I ever had
But had we stayed together
So many years later
Might we be bored with one another?
And so like the Spartan I should perhaps be grateful
For these bitter ashes, these memories undimmed
My regrets now are my pleasure
For unsullied they are
By succession
And the numbing turn of the years
So I remember you now, lost love
Lost life
And celebrate that I never knew you
To become ordinary

Leave a Reply

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
