Exits and Entrances

Inspired by the prompt ‘The Exits of the World’, this poem leaped into being. I have Stephanie at BeKindRewrite to thank for the inspiration and I hope, that according to her philosophy, you get as much from the reading of it as I did in writing it.

Exits and entrances,
One door swings open,
Another breaks your nose with a sudden slam.
Such are the fates of life,
Each of us walking like blind men,
Wondering why we all have broken noses,
That can no longer smell the fresh air,
Beckoning from forests and fields,
And the clear mountains calling out their siren call,
To a people who have long ago forgotten to listen to its patient power.

 

Perhaps today things will be different,
Perhaps today the adventure will begin,
And I will not know I’m me anymore,
Until I wash up tired and happy,
Smoking jacket and slippers,
With my feet roasted before the roaring fire,
And my back to the final whispering exit,
As the shadows creep and beckon,
I know no fear,
Armoured with a life spent,
Fully and well until the very moment,
The curtain falls
Exit stage right.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holly Vandervort
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 17:01:06

    I’m so glad you found my blog, because it brought me to yours. I love this poem…so inspiring and powerful! I look forward to reading more 🙂

    Reply

  2. kellenbrugman
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 18:06:58

    Mark, what a lovely poem. Will reflect on the message as I walk thru doors today. Peace…

    Reply

  3. MyWordsWhisper
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 00:21:55

    This poem is great. I especially love your ending ….”a life spent fully and well until the very moment,” -something we probably all think about and more so as time ticks on.
    Thank you.

    Reply

  4. bekindrewrite
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 03:46:08

    This moves from intriguing to insightful to hopeful to cozy to satisfying so smoothly, it’s feels like I’ve tasted an entire meal in one bite. Awesome work.

    Welcome to the Rewriters!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Inspiration Monday X « BeKindRewrite
  6. Sonia G Medeiros
    May 03, 2011 @ 15:17:24

    Very powerful! As usual ;). I can’t even pick a favorite part because I love it all.

    Reply

Leave a comment

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected