The Other Me

Another post inspired by Stephanie at BeKindRewrite. The random words she suggested put me in mind of those times in life when we seem to cross paths with the young dreamer we once were, and for that moment can be again:

Was it me or merely dream,
The day I stood upon that isle,
And did not wish to build a raft,
Or sail the wind’s sweet memory?

 

The boy back then stood lost by mind,
Breathing air exhaling nought,
Tears streaked his face he knew not why,
Save perhaps he could not stay.

 

The emptiness of that regret,
Is lost upon the spool of time,
Save when sharp path of other lives
Does cut back the veil of dreamer’s isle

 

And in a moment of soft regret,
A tender sigh escapes these lips,
For the man pulled up by this tide,
And the other me so left behind.
 

On another matter completely, many thanks to all who read my submission to the perfect poet award.  It holds regular rallies and is a great place to read the work of other poets and get read yourself. To all those who read and liked thanks for the award! Check out the other winners here.

My acceptance haiku:

When the mind is lost,
Amid the notes of life’s song,
At last it is home .
 

I would like to nominate for further reading Pat Cegan of Source of Inspiration.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jingle
    May 09, 2011 @ 23:10:10

    perfect job..

    Reply

  2. eva626
    May 10, 2011 @ 01:31:45

    i always wondered about my other me…its creepy when you think about it…and it would be ultra creepy for twins to have other me’s cause then there would be FOUR of them lol…wow. but yes great poem ..i like it!

    Reply

  3. bekindrewrite
    May 10, 2011 @ 02:50:57

    It seems a sad farewell to childhood. It’s probably something completely different (I’m very bad at poetry), but that’s what it feels like to me. I like it.

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      May 11, 2011 @ 19:53:22

      It did come out a tad sadder than I had intended, perhaps that was due to the unfamiliar structure that I tried to fit it into! Glad you liked though 🙂

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Inspiration Monday XI « BeKindRewrite
  5. MyWordsWhisper
    May 10, 2011 @ 15:27:36

    This poem is beautiful. I love all the words but especially these
    “…The emptiness of that regret,
    Is lost upon the spool of time…”
    Thank you.

    I noticed you write beautiful Haiku, also. I love your ‘acceptance haiku poem’. I am working a bit with a form of it called Senryu because I tend to write about human nature more than nature. It is all very new to me but I love Haiku poems and also tanka.
    I will visit again!

    Reply

    • mbwilliams
      May 11, 2011 @ 19:52:10

      Thanks for reading! I enjoy Haiku for the discipline they bring to my otherwise uncontrolled prose. Also using less words sometimes seems to lend poems a beauty that they have to right too. 🙂 I will certainly check your blog out to see what you’ve been up to!

      Reply

  6. Jingle
    May 10, 2011 @ 16:36:55

    awesome…………perfectly done.
    Thanks…come to poetry potluck if you can, appreciate your input.

    visit me and you will see the link…Jingle Poetry Potluck week 34…

    Reply

  7. P.V. Zim
    May 12, 2011 @ 15:33:46

    I can relate.

    Reply

  8. Becca Givens
    May 13, 2011 @ 01:36:27

    Farewells are bittersweet ~~ well done!! Your nomination choice is excellent!! Pat is a soul sister and one of my favorite inspirations!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment

(C) Copyright Mark B Williams 2014
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected